Suzhou Museum and I.M. Pei

Suzhou Museum, China (date visited – 2011) –

Suzhou Museum, designed by I.M. Pei (贝聿铭), is one of my favourite building. The design of the building is not to be appreciated just by eye or by heart. You have to use your mind to read the building with a little bit of Zen interpretation as below –

DSC_0200 Sozhou Museum

Ch’uan Teng Lu: “Before I had studied Zen for thirty years, I saw mountains as mountains, and waters as waters. When I arrived at a more intimate knowledge, I came to the point where I saw that mountains are not mountains, and waters are not waters. But now that I have got its very substance I am at rest. For it’s just that I see mountains once again as mountains, and waters once again as waters.”

So let look at the building again, do you see the mountain and waters? This is my own feeling of the building. I see the mountain and water, I feel the peace and eternity. This is the beauty of it.

Note:
I.M Pei, who is also the architect of the glass-and-steel pyramid for the Musée du Louvre in Paris and also the Bank of China in Hong Kong. A surprising finding is the OCBC Tower, one of the old iconic building in Singapore since 1976 is also designed by him.

Leave a Reply

